Thursday, May 15, 2008

LCEA Executive Board Meeting Minutes May 15, 2008

LCEA Meeting Minutes
Date: 5/15/2008
Place: High School Room 403
Time: 4:15

Roll Call: Sharon Crawley, Kim Muta, Jennifer Doorlag, Maggie Bennett (absent), Dave Bergman
HS Reps: Tom McLaughlin, Allison Towne, Brian Johnson (absent), Christina Woodward (absent)
MS Reps: Margot Argotsinger, Beth Frank, Al Lorenz, Barb Motes (absent)
TH Reps: Susan Drustrup, Maggie Miller (Lisa Gundlach subbing), Jennifer Hake (absent), Joanna Stenlund
Kreft Reps: Kathy Moe, Melinn Ruzicka, Tara York

Approval of Agenda: Sharon Crawley
• Beth Frank moved that the agenda be approved with the addition of Nancy Haigh, Dave Bergman seconded the motion and it passed.

Nancy Haigh from Valuebuilders

Secretary’s Report/ Approval of Minutes: Kim Muta
• Dave Bergman moved that the April minutes be approved, Allison Towne seconded it, and the motion passed.

Treasurer’s Report: Jennifer Doorlag
• The spreadsheet is up to date. Susan has some receipts to turn in, yet. Tom McLaughlin needs to turn in the dinner receipt from Delegate Assembly.
• Allison Towne moved that we accept the treasurer’s report, Dave Bergman seconded it, and the motion passed
• Allison Towne moved that the officers be given authority to decide the 2007-2008 budget, Joanna Stenlund seconded it, and the motion passed.
• Allison Towne moved that we buy teachers for new teachers again in August, Tom McLaughlin seconded it, and the motion passed.
• Beth Frank moved that we purchase plaques for Teacher of the Year, Allison Towne seconded it, and the motion passed.
• Tom McLaughlin moved that we purchase and present a gavel to Sharon Crawley for her service as President, Kathy Moe seconded it, and the motion passed.

Negotiations: Beth Frank
• The District said no to $950 and then to $925. John Phillips got PERB involved and there is a tentative agreement of $915 added to the base. That would be a 5.89% package.
• Next year, we should be getting Phase II and TQ money spread out equally over twelve months.
• The new language: add grandchildren to family leave, distribution of TQ money, signature clause was changed to reflect the change in LCEA leadership, addition of Special Olympics supplemental position.
• Dave Bergman moved that we accept the $915 to the base, Tom McLaughlin seconded the motion, and it passed.
• Beth Frank handed out ballots to give to the membership, and those need to be distributed and returned by the end of the day tomorrow, May 16.

TQC: Barb Motes/Kim Muta/Al Lorenz/Tom McLaughlin
• We shared the discussion of the two staff development days and the discussion of the market factor pay being discontinued. All minutes for those meetings are on the LCEA blog site.

President’s Report: Sharon Crawley
• There is nothing to report today.

Committee Reports:
• High School: We have a Nelson Award winner, and the person will be honored at the awards ceremony on Monday, May 19. Dave Bergman talked about the new District Leadership Team (DLT). The Task Force has been disbanded, but there isn’t clear direction about what form the DLT would take. There is discussion about compensation, which, of course, would be an issue since the positions were not posted. There are several other issues involved—the DLT usurping the role of the TQC, the inclusion of non-members on a committee making decisions about professional development, compensation of instructional strategists, the elimination of summer curriculum writing, etc.
• Middle School: Things are normal for this time of year.
• Kreft: Nothing to report.
• Titan Hill: The visit by Linda Nelson went very well. Pictures are on the blog.

Old Business:
• ISEA President, Linda Nelson, will be visiting our unit April 22-23-24. See Titan Hill’s report.

New Business:
• Buildings: Teacher of the Year: Susan Drustrup for Titan Hill, Phyllis Hamling for the middle school, and the other two buildings aren’t sure yet.
• Retirees: Phyllis Hamling’s picture is done, and she’s finishing up Jan Pellant’s. We’ll get frames for them, and they’ll be presented at the last meeting for their buildings or at their retirement parties.
• Scholarship winner (awarded by Dave Bergman): Kristen Schweer.

• Allison Towne moved that we adjourn, Melinn Ruzicka seconded it, and the meeting adjourned at 5:30.

CLICK HERE for a WORD version of the LCEA Unofficial Meeting Minutes 05.15.08